Who are the 3 gods of Buddhism?

Who are the 3 gods of Buddhism?

30 Sec Answer: The Three Jewels of Buddhism are the Buddha, the Dharma (the teachings of the Buddha), and the Sangha (the spiritual community).


Buddhism is a religion that began over 2500 years ago in India. It has since spread throughout Asia and around the world. Its core beliefs revolve around following the path to enlightenment through meditation and moral living. In Buddhism, there are three important figures known as the "Three Jewels," or sometimes referred to as the "Three Refuges." These Three Jewels form the foundation of Buddhist faith and practice and include the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha.

Who is the Buddha?

The Buddha is Siddhartha Gautama, who lived in what is now Nepal from 563–483 BCE. He was born into a royal family but left it behind to seek truth about life and its suffering. After years of meditating, he achieved Enlightenment and became known as “The Enlightened One” or simply “The Buddha.” Buddhists believe that his teachings provide a path to liberation from suffering.

What is the Dharma?

The Dharma refers to the teachings of The Buddha, which provide guidance for how we should live our lives. The word Dharma means “truth” or “law” in Sanskrit, so these teachings provide insight into the true nature of reality and prescribe ways of living in accordance with this knowledge. They cover topics such as karma, reincarnation, mindfulness, loving-kindness, right speech and right action, non-attachment, impermanence, and emptiness.

What is the Sangha?

The Sangha refers to the spiritual community—those individuals who follow The Buddha’s teachings by engaging in meditation and studying his writings. This can refer to both lay followers and monastic orders who dedicate their lives to living out The Dharma. Traditionally, one must be ordained by an experienced monk or nun in order to become a part of this spiritual community; however modern interpretations have allowed for different forms of affiliation with the Sangha.

Why Are These Three Gods Important?

The Three Jewels represent an essential element of Buddhism: that one must look within themselves for truth instead of relying on outside sources like gods or religious institutions. All three together emphasize personal growth through study, meditation practice, and shared understanding among fellow Buddhists. Ultimately they all point towards inner peace and liberation from suffering through wisdom and compassion – two important tenants of Buddhist philosophy.

How Do We Practice Each Jewel?

Practicing each jewel involves engaging with them on multiple levels – physical, mental, emotional and spiritual. To practice reverence for The Buddha one can read scriptures or make offerings at temples dedicated to him/her; while practising respect for The Dharma involves reading texts related to it or attending lectures given by knowledgeable teachers; similarly developing devotion towards The Sangha can involve taking refuge in it by joining monasteries or congregations if possible. Further deepening our relationship with each jewel requires applying what we learn into our daily lives – especially when faced with difficult situations – thus gaining insight from experience rather than just knowledge alone.

Taking Refuge in The Three Jewels

Taking refuge in The Three Jewels serves as a formal declaration of allegiance towards Buddhist principles. During refuge ceremonies Buddhists commit themselves to leading ethical lives based on five precepts set forth by The Buddha – refraining from harming living beings; abstaining from stealing; avoiding sexual misconduct; speaking truthfully; and abstaining from intoxicants that could lead to heedlessness – while acknowledging their need for help during their journey towards enlightenment.


In summary, Buddhism offers us hope for liberation from suffering through dedication to learning about ourselves through wisdom and compassion presented by The Three Jewels: The Buddha (our teacher); The Dharma (his teachings); And finally The Sangha (the spiritual community). Understanding these three important aspects helps us move closer towards becoming spiritually liberated beings capable of transforming pain into joy by using them as stepping stones towards deeper insight into life’s mysteries!

Samantha Greenfield

Samantha Greenfield was born and raised in a small town in the rural countryside of Washington state. From a young age, she was drawn to the natural world and spent much of her time exploring the forests and fields around her home. As she grew older, she became increasingly interested in the intersection of nature, spirituality, and personal growth, and began to study Buddhism and mindfulness in depth. After completing her undergraduate degree in Environmental Science, Samantha decided to pursue a career in nature conservation and spent several years working with various non-profit organizations and government agencies on conservation projects around the world. Along the way, she discovered a passion for writing and began to document her adventures and insights in a series of personal blogs and articles. In recent years, Samantha has turned her focus to sharing her knowledge and experiences with a wider audience and has become a popular speaker and workshop leader on topics related to Buddhism, mindfulness, and personal growth. She is currently working on a book about the intersection of nature, spirituality, and mindfulness, and continues to be an active advocate for environmental conservation and sustainability.

Recent Posts