What does the three dharmas teach?

What does the three dharmas teach?

30 Sec Answer: The three dharmas, also known as the "Three Jewels", are the main teachings of Buddhism and they are the practice of morality (sila), meditation (samadhi) and wisdom (panna).


The Three Dharma – otherwise known as “The Three Jewels” – is a term that refers to the core teachings of Buddhism. This article will explore what each of these jewels stand for, and how understanding them can lead to spiritual enlightenment.

What Are The Three Dharmas?

The Three Dharmas represent the three central pillars of Buddhist practice. They are as follows:

  1. Sila – Morality/ethics
  2. Samadhi – Meditation
  3. Panna – Wisdom

What Does Sila Teach?

Sila, or morality/ethics, is the first of the Three Dharmas and it focuses on developing good conduct in oneself and one’s actions. It involves abstaining from certain behaviors such as lying, stealing, killing, and intoxicants, which are thought to prevent an individual from reaching full potential. It also includes being mindful of others when engaging in activities like business transactions or interpersonal relationships.

What Does Samadhi Teach?

Samadhi, or meditation, is the second Dharma and it is centered around developing mental concentration through various techniques such as mindfulness meditation and visualizations. These practices are designed to help one gain insight into the true nature of reality and ultimately find inner peace and harmony. Through regular practice, one can learn to control their thoughts and emotions better so that they may experience a greater sense of clarity and stillness in life.

What Does Panna Teach?

Panna, or wisdom, is the third Dharma and it emphasizes gaining a deeper understanding of Buddhist philosophy by studying sutras (scriptures) and engaging in philosophical debates with other Buddhists. This aspect of Buddhism aims to cultivate an intellectual understanding of the Four Noble Truths – suffering exists; craving causes suffering; ending craving ends suffering; following the Eightfold Path ends craving – which can then be applied in everyday life. Through this knowledge one can begin to free themselves from ignorance and achieve liberation from all suffering.

How Do The Three Dharmas Interact With One Another?

Though each Dharma stands on its own merits, they are all interrelated in that they provide guidance on how to reach Enlightenment – or freedom from suffering – according to Buddhist teachings. To put it simply, by practicing Sila one can become more morally upright; with Samadhi one can develop inner stillness; and with Panna one can attain wisdom about reality. As these three aspects are brought together in daily life, a person begins to experience greater levels of fulfillment and joy.

What Is The Relationship Between The Three Dharmas And Karma?

Karma is essentially cause-and-effect seen through a moral lens – meaning that our actions have consequences both positive and negative depending on whether they follow the guidelines set out by Sila (morality/ethics). In essence, if we live according to morality we create good karma which leads to positive results while if we don’t adhere to morality then we create bad karma which leads to negative consequences down the line. So in order for us to reap rewards from our actions now or later on we must abide by the principles outlined in Sila first and foremost.

What Are Some Practical Benefits Of Understanding The Three Dharmas?

Understanding the Three Dharmas provides us with invaluable insights into ourselves, our environment, our place in society, etc., which ultimately helps us make decisions based on mindful awareness instead of rash impulses. By aligning our behavior with ethical principles such as honesty, compassion, respectfulness etc., we become less likely to harm ourselves or those around us due to impulsive decision making influenced by fear or greed. Similarly by meditating regularly we can learn to become more aware of our thoughts so that we can start steering them towards constructive channels rather than letting them take us wherever they please. Finally by cultivating wisdom through studying Buddhist scriptures we gain an understanding of reality that allows us further insight into how things work so that we may move forward with greater confidence knowing that we have chosen wisely based off sound reasoning instead of guesswork alone.


In conclusion The Three Dharmas – Sila (Morality/Ethics), Samadhi (Meditation), Panna (Wisdom) – are essential teachings within Buddhism that provide guidance on living a moral life leading up eventual liberation from all suffering . When practiced correctly these principles can lead individuals onto paths of personal growth whereby decisions are made based on informed judgement instead emotion-driven whimsy leading up lasting peace both within themselves as well as their external world too!

Samantha Greenfield

Samantha Greenfield was born and raised in a small town in the rural countryside of Washington state. From a young age, she was drawn to the natural world and spent much of her time exploring the forests and fields around her home. As she grew older, she became increasingly interested in the intersection of nature, spirituality, and personal growth, and began to study Buddhism and mindfulness in depth. After completing her undergraduate degree in Environmental Science, Samantha decided to pursue a career in nature conservation and spent several years working with various non-profit organizations and government agencies on conservation projects around the world. Along the way, she discovered a passion for writing and began to document her adventures and insights in a series of personal blogs and articles. In recent years, Samantha has turned her focus to sharing her knowledge and experiences with a wider audience and has become a popular speaker and workshop leader on topics related to Buddhism, mindfulness, and personal growth. She is currently working on a book about the intersection of nature, spirituality, and mindfulness, and continues to be an active advocate for environmental conservation and sustainability.

Recent Posts