What are the 7 sins in Hinduism?

What are the 7 sins in Hinduism?

30 Sec Answer: In Hinduism, the seven sins are also known as ‘sapta dosha’ and they include Kama (lust), Krodha (anger), Lobh (greed), Moha (delusion/attachment), Mada (pride/ego), Matsarya (jealousy) and Ahankar (self-importance).


Hinduism is an ancient religion which has been practiced in India for many centuries. It is based on the teachings of various spiritual masters who have lived in India over the course of history. The principles of Hinduism are closely intertwined with the teachings of karma and reincarnation, making it a complex and deeply layered belief system. One key concept in Hinduism is that of the “seven sins”, which are often referred to as sapta dosha. These seven sins are seen as hindrances to spiritual growth and can lead to negative karma. In this article, we will explore what these seven sins are and how they can be avoided.

What are the Seven Sins?

The seven sins in Hinduism are commonly referred to as sapta dosha, or the "seven defects". They include Kama (lust), Krodha (anger), Lobh (greed), Moha (delusion/attachment), Mada (pride/ego), Matsarya (jealousy) and Ahankar (self-importance). Each of these can be broken down further into different categories. For example, kama includes sensual desires such as sexual pleasure, while moha includes attachment to material objects and emotional attachments to people.

Kama – Lust

Kama is a form of desire which centers around physical pleasure and gratification. This could range from craving for food or drink to indulging in sexual activities without thought for the consequences or morality involved. It is important to note that kama does not refer only to sexual lust but rather any type of craving which may cause harm either to oneself or others.

Krodha – Anger

Krodha refers to uncontrolled anger which can result in violence or aggression against other people or oneself. It usually arises out of frustration or feeling slighted by someone else’s actions or words. People who struggle with krodha may find themselves unable to control their emotions when faced with a situation which triggers them, leading to violent outbursts or other forms of aggression.

Lobh – Greed

Lobh involves wanting more than one actually needs and can manifest itself in many ways including hoarding possessions, money or even power over others. Greed is often driven by fear and insecurity as individuals attempt to fill a perceived void within themselves through acquiring more stuff or resources than necessary. This kind of behaviour leads to feelings of discontentment and unhappiness due to never being satisfied with what one has.

Moha – Delusion/Attachment

Moha involves becoming attached to something whether it be material objects, relationships, ideas etc., resulting in an inability to let go even if doing so would be beneficial for one’s wellbeing. It also involves believing certain ideas blindly without questioning them first which can lead to false beliefs and expectations about life and its outcomes.

Mada – Pride/Ego

Mada describes a person who believes they are superior to others due to their wealth, power or status in society. It is rooted in arrogance and lack of humility which leads individuals to think they do not need help from anyone else as they feel they are capable of achieving everything on their own. This kind of attitude prevents people from understanding their limitations or learning new skills as they believe themselves above such things.

Matsarya – Jealousy

Matsarya relates to feelings of envy towards another person’s success or achievements. It manifests itself in trying to take away from someone else’s good fortune either directly through sabotage or indirectly through gossiping about them behind their back. These kinds of behaviours stem from a lack of self-esteem as individuals compare themselves unfavourably with those who seem better off than them in some way.

Ahankar – Self-Importance

Ahankar refers to thinking oneself better than everyone else due largely to one’s egoistic nature or delusions about one’s importance or abilities beyond reality. It can lead individuals down a path where they become conceited, selfish and unwilling to listen to advice given by wiser sources because they believe they know best regardless of any evidence proving otherwise.


The seven sins outlined above represent major stumbling blocks on the path towards spiritual enlightenment according to Hindu teachings. By recognising them within ourselves and striving towards overcoming them, we can ensure our progress on our journey towards enlightenment remains unhindered by our own shortcomings along the way

Samantha Greenfield

Samantha Greenfield was born and raised in a small town in the rural countryside of Washington state. From a young age, she was drawn to the natural world and spent much of her time exploring the forests and fields around her home. As she grew older, she became increasingly interested in the intersection of nature, spirituality, and personal growth, and began to study Buddhism and mindfulness in depth. After completing her undergraduate degree in Environmental Science, Samantha decided to pursue a career in nature conservation and spent several years working with various non-profit organizations and government agencies on conservation projects around the world. Along the way, she discovered a passion for writing and began to document her adventures and insights in a series of personal blogs and articles. In recent years, Samantha has turned her focus to sharing her knowledge and experiences with a wider audience and has become a popular speaker and workshop leader on topics related to Buddhism, mindfulness, and personal growth. She is currently working on a book about the intersection of nature, spirituality, and mindfulness, and continues to be an active advocate for environmental conservation and sustainability.

Recent Posts