What are the 7 rules of Buddhism?

What are the 7 rules of Buddhism?

30 Sec Answer: Buddhism is a path of spiritual practice and development with the goal of enlightenment. The seven rules of Buddhism are the Four Noble Truths, the Noble Eightfold Path, Karma, Interdependence, Impermanence, Non-Attachment and Compassion.

What are the 7 Rules of Buddhism?

The core teachings of Buddhism can be summed up in what are known as ‘the seven rules of Buddhism’ or the ‘seven pillars of enlightenment’. These rules provide guidance on how to live an enlightened life and enable people to reach their highest potential. By understanding and following these rules, Buddhists strive to attain Nirvana – the state of perfect bliss and harmony which brings peace to both body and mind. Let’s take a look at each one:

1. The Four Noble Truths

The Four Noble Truths form the foundation for all other Buddhist principles and practices. They provide a basic outline for developing wisdom, ethical conduct, and mental discipline. In short, they are:

  • Life is suffering
  • Suffering is caused by craving/attachment
  • Suffering can be overcome by letting go/ending craving
  • The way to end suffering is through following the Noble Eightfold Path

2. The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path provides guidelines for attaining true knowledge and leading a moral life. It consists of eight interconnected parts that must be practiced together for one to truly understand Buddhism: right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration.

3. Karma

Karma is the law of cause and effect; it states that our actions have consequences in this life and in future lives. Good deeds bring good results while bad deeds bring negative ones; but even when we suffer from the negative effects of our past mistakes or misfortunes, it doesn’t mean we’re being punished – karma simply means that we have to learn lessons so that we don’t repeat them again in the future.

4. Interdependence

Interdependence states that nothing exists independently – everything depends on something else for its existence or well-being. We should appreciate every aspect of our lives because without them our lives would be incomplete – whether it’s nature providing us with food and shelter or our family members giving us love and support.

5. Impermanence

Everything changes over time – nothing remains constant forever; no matter how hard we try to cling onto things, they will eventually fade away from us like clouds in the sky. Understanding impermanence helps us appreciate life more deeply instead of getting attached to things that won’t last forever – such as material possessions or physical beauty.

6. Non-Attachment

Non-attachment encourages us not to become too emotionally attached to people or possessions since this leads to suffering when we inevitably have to let go later on. Instead of relying too heavily on anything external for happiness or security, Buddhists strive to develop an inner strength based on acceptance of change so they can still remain happy no matter what happens in life.

7. Compassion

Compassion is having empathy towards others’ pain or misfortune while also wishing them well despite any differences you may have with them; it means caring enough about another person’s suffering that you would want to do something about it if you could – such as offering emotional support or lending a helping hand whenever possible. Through compassion, Buddhists develop strong relationships with those around them and make a positive impact on society overall.


The seven rules of Buddhism are designed to help individuals attain liberation from suffering and move closer towards enlightenment through developing wisdom, ethics, mental discipline and compassionate behavior towards oneself and others alike. By living according to these rules, Buddhists aim for an ultimate state of joyous freedom that allows them to lead meaningful lives filled with purposeful activities rather than needless pursuits after worldly objects or ephemeral pleasures

Samantha Greenfield

Samantha Greenfield was born and raised in a small town in the rural countryside of Washington state. From a young age, she was drawn to the natural world and spent much of her time exploring the forests and fields around her home. As she grew older, she became increasingly interested in the intersection of nature, spirituality, and personal growth, and began to study Buddhism and mindfulness in depth. After completing her undergraduate degree in Environmental Science, Samantha decided to pursue a career in nature conservation and spent several years working with various non-profit organizations and government agencies on conservation projects around the world. Along the way, she discovered a passion for writing and began to document her adventures and insights in a series of personal blogs and articles. In recent years, Samantha has turned her focus to sharing her knowledge and experiences with a wider audience and has become a popular speaker and workshop leader on topics related to Buddhism, mindfulness, and personal growth. She is currently working on a book about the intersection of nature, spirituality, and mindfulness, and continues to be an active advocate for environmental conservation and sustainability.

Recent Posts