What are the 7 karmas?

What are the 7 karmas?

30 Sec Answer: The seven karmas are the physical, verbal, mental, habitual, and life-determining actions that we take in this lifetime. These are often referred to as the “Fivefold Karmic Path” and together create our karma for this life.

What Are The 7 Karmas?

Karma is an ancient concept of cause and effect in which positive and negative actions have a corresponding result either in this life or a future one. In Hinduism and Buddhism, there are seven different types of karma, each with its own set of consequences. Here we will explore what these karmas are, how they work, and how they can be used to improve your life.

What Is Karma?

Karma is a term derived from the Sanskrit language which translates roughly to "action". It refers to the idea that all actions have consequences – both positive and negative – which will follow us throughout our lives. This means that everything you do now has the potential to affect your future experiences.

The concept of karma comes from Eastern religions such as Hinduism and Buddhism, where it is believed that good deeds will bring about positive results while bad deeds will lead to negative outcomes. While some may see this as punishment or reward for certain behavior, others believe it to be more of a natural balance of energy in the universe. No matter how you look at it, understanding karma can help you make better decisions now so that you don’t suffer later on down the line.

What Are The 7 Types Of Karma?

The seven types of karma are divided into two main categories: physical and non-physical. Physical karma refers to any action taken with your body such as walking, talking, eating etc., while non-physical karma encompasses more abstract acts such as thoughts or intentions. Together they form what is known as the Fivefold Karmic Path (or Pancha Karmavibhaga). These five categories encompass every action taken in this lifetime, making them crucial components of our overall spiritual development.

  1. Body Karma (Deha Karma): This refers to any action taken with the body such as walking, talking or eating. These physical actions create ripples that move through time and space until they manifest themselves in the present moment. It’s important to note that body karma doesn’t just refer to physical health but also includes emotional well-being; any type of bodily experience (pleasure/pain) counts towards this type of karma.
  2. Speech Karma (Vachika Karma): Any type of communication (verbal or written) creates speech karma; this includes words said out loud as well as inner dialogue (thoughts). It’s important to note that not only does the content matter but also how it’s said – intention plays an integral role here too! For example, if someone says something hurtful out of anger then their speech karma will reflect this accordingly; conversely, kind words spoken with love will generate a more positive outcome.
  3. Mind Karma (Mano Karma): This refers to any mental activity such as thinking or imagining; even daydreaming counts towards mind karma! The quality of thoughts matters here too; for example if someone dwells on negative ideas then this can lead to darker outcomes whereas optimistic outlooks will produce brighter ones. As always it’s best to focus on positivity when possible!
  4. Habitual Karma (Samskara Karma): Habitual patterns created by regular daily activities count towards samskara karma; things like brushing your teeth or going for a jog become part of our subconscious routine and therefore contribute to our overall karma score. If someone constantly indulges in unhealthy habits then this can create further issues down the line so it’s important to be mindful of what we choose to do every day!
  5. Life Determining Karma (Adya Dharma): This type of karma deals with major decisions made during one’s lifetime such as getting married or choosing a career path; basically anything that significantly alters the course of a person’s life is considered adya dharma karma! This can also include past choices from previous lives; whatever decisions were made back then still affect us now so it’s important to try and resolve any lingering issues before moving forward into new ventures!

How Do The 7 Karmas Work Together?

The seven karmas are interconnected in various ways – each type influences another depending on circumstances and intent behind each action taken by an individual. For instance: if someone has committed bad speech karma due to speaking harshly in a given situation then their body karma might be affected negatively since their words could cause physical harm if acted upon by another person! Similarly if someone engages in habitual karmic activities such as smoking cigarettes then their mind & life determining karmas may be adversely impacted due to poor decision making leading up to long-term health complications etc.. In other words: all seven types play an integral role in shaping who we are today based off our past actions!

How Can We Use The 7 Karmas To Improve Our Lives?

Understanding and utilizing these seven types of karmic paths can help us lead happier and healthier lives! By being mindful of our physical, verbal, mental & habitual actions – along with making wise choices regarding major life events – we can create positive ripple effects for ourselves now & into the future! Additionally we should strive towards releasing any unresolved issues from previous lives that may be holding us back – by doing so we open ourselves up for growth & evolution beyond our current reality!


The Seven Karmas represent our total sum experience here on Earth; they are intertwined yet distinct paths which shape who we are today based off our past actions! By being mindful of each type & learning how they interact with one another we can use them as tools for personal growth & evolution beyond this lifetime!

Samantha Greenfield

Samantha Greenfield was born and raised in a small town in the rural countryside of Washington state. From a young age, she was drawn to the natural world and spent much of her time exploring the forests and fields around her home. As she grew older, she became increasingly interested in the intersection of nature, spirituality, and personal growth, and began to study Buddhism and mindfulness in depth. After completing her undergraduate degree in Environmental Science, Samantha decided to pursue a career in nature conservation and spent several years working with various non-profit organizations and government agencies on conservation projects around the world. Along the way, she discovered a passion for writing and began to document her adventures and insights in a series of personal blogs and articles. In recent years, Samantha has turned her focus to sharing her knowledge and experiences with a wider audience and has become a popular speaker and workshop leader on topics related to Buddhism, mindfulness, and personal growth. She is currently working on a book about the intersection of nature, spirituality, and mindfulness, and continues to be an active advocate for environmental conservation and sustainability.

Recent Posts