What are the 5 bases of dharma?

What are the 5 bases of dharma?

30 Sec Answer: The five bases of dharma, also known as the Five Pillars of Dharma, are Truthfulness (Satya), Righteousness or Justice (Dharma), Non-Violence (Ahimsa), Peaceful Coexistence (Dayam) and Compassion (Karuna).


Dharma is an important concept in Hinduism and Buddhism. It is a path of spiritual practice that leads to enlightenment and self-realization. Dharma is the foundation for living life with moral integrity, balance and respect for all forms of life. In Hinduism, dharma is based on the Vedas – ancient scriptures which contain knowledge about how to live life in harmony with the universe. In Buddhism, it is based on the teachings of the Buddha, who showed us how to cultivate our inner wisdom and attain peace through meditation and mindful living. The five bases of dharma provide guidance on how to live an ethical life according to these principles.

What are the 5 Bases of Dharma?

The five bases of dharma are Truthfulness (Satya), Righteousness or Justice (Dharma), Non-Violence (Ahimsa), Peaceful Coexistence (Dayam) and Compassion (Karuna). These are universal principles that form the basis for leading an ethical life. Let’s take a look at each one in more detail:

1. Truthfulness (Satya)

Truthfulness is the foundation for living a good life. It means speaking truthfully at all times and not deceiving others. Living truthfully involves being honest with yourself and others, not telling lies or exaggerating the truth. This does not mean you have to reveal everything about yourself; there can be situations where it is better to remain silent rather than say something untruthful.

2. Righteousness or Justice (Dharma)

Righteousness or justice refers to upholding morality and doing what is right. This means following laws and regulations, but also treating others with fairness and compassion. It includes respecting diversity, understanding different points of view and taking action against injustice when we see it.

3. Non-Violence (Ahimsa)

Non-violence is a key principle of dharma and involves avoiding harm to any living thing. This includes not only physical violence, but also psychological harm such as gossiping or using harsh words towards another person. Practicing non-violence requires us to show respect for all forms of life, even if we disagree with them or do not understand them.

4. Peaceful Coexistence (Dayam)

Peaceful coexistence involves creating harmony between oneself and others, as well as between different cultures and communities. This means finding ways to cooperate rather than compete; listening before speaking; accepting differences without judgment; finding common ground despite our differences; and working together towards shared goals that benefit everyone involved.

5. Compassion (Karuna)

Compassion is essential for creating meaningful relationships with other people as well as ourselves. Compassion involves showing understanding for someone else’s feelings, acknowledging their suffering and offering help if possible. It also requires recognizing our own limitations and understanding that no one is perfect; instead of judging ourselves harshly we should treat ourselves with kindness and compassion just as we would treat someone else who was going through a difficult time.


The five bases of dharma provide us with guidance on how to lead an ethical life that brings joy to ourselves as well as those around us. By developing these qualities within ourselves, we create more peace and harmony in the world around us – which benefits us all!

Samantha Greenfield

Samantha Greenfield was born and raised in a small town in the rural countryside of Washington state. From a young age, she was drawn to the natural world and spent much of her time exploring the forests and fields around her home. As she grew older, she became increasingly interested in the intersection of nature, spirituality, and personal growth, and began to study Buddhism and mindfulness in depth. After completing her undergraduate degree in Environmental Science, Samantha decided to pursue a career in nature conservation and spent several years working with various non-profit organizations and government agencies on conservation projects around the world. Along the way, she discovered a passion for writing and began to document her adventures and insights in a series of personal blogs and articles. In recent years, Samantha has turned her focus to sharing her knowledge and experiences with a wider audience and has become a popular speaker and workshop leader on topics related to Buddhism, mindfulness, and personal growth. She is currently working on a book about the intersection of nature, spirituality, and mindfulness, and continues to be an active advocate for environmental conservation and sustainability.

Recent Posts