What are the 3 main beliefs of Jainism?

What are the 3 main beliefs of Jainism?

The Principle of Ahimsa: Non-Violence and Respect for All Life

The principle of ahimsa, or non-violence and respect for all life, is an ancient concept that has been embraced by many spiritual and religious traditions throughout the world. It is based on the belief that all life is interconnected and should be treated with compassion and respect. This principle has been a cornerstone of many philosophies, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism, and Sikhism. In these religions, it is believed that all beings are interconnected and should not be harmed or destroyed unnecessarily.

Ahimsa emphasizes kindness towards all living things, even those considered to be lower forms of life. This includes animals, plants, insects, microorganisms, and even inanimate objects. The goal is to live in harmony with nature rather than exploiting it for one’s own benefit. Ahimsa also teaches us to treat each other with respect and kindness as well. This means avoiding any action that would harm another person physically or emotionally.

The practice of ahimsa encourages individuals to develop an attitude of non-violence towards all life forms, both animate and inanimate. It also requires individuals to show kindness and compassion towards others by avoiding activities that may cause physical or psychological harm. By following this principle, we can create a more peaceful world where everyone is respected and cherished regardless of their differences.

The Practice of Aparigraha: Non-Attachment and Minimal Possessions

Aparigraha is an ancient Sanskrit term which translates to “non-attachment” or “minimal possessions.” This practice has been used for centuries by yogis and spiritual seekers alike as a way to free the mind from attachment to material goods and focus instead on inner peace and spiritual enlightenment. Aparigraha is closely related to the practice of non-violence, as it encourages one to release attachment to objects, people, and even thoughts that are not in alignment with their highest truth.

The concept of aparigraha can be found in many ancient Hindu texts such as the Bhagavad Gita, which speaks of the importance of relinquishing material desires and embracing simplicity. In the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali outlines five Yamas (restraints) which form the ethical foundation of yoga practice; one of these Yamas is aparigraha. According to Patanjali, aparigraha helps us move beyond our need for material security and towards greater mental clarity and contentment.

The practice of aparigraha can take many forms depending on one’s lifestyle and spiritual path. It could involve reducing clutter in one’s home or workspace, donating unused items to those in need, or refraining from acquiring new things unless absolutely necessary. Additionally, it could mean releasing emotional attachments to certain people or situations, cultivating gratitude for what one already has, and becoming more mindful about how one spends time and energy.

Aparigraha is an important part of yogic philosophy as it helps us to cultivate non-attachment in all areas of life. By recognizing that nothing is permanent or secure in this world, we can become liberated from our attachments and learn to appreciate each moment as it comes. Practicing aparigraha helps us gain clarity on what truly matters most: living an authentic life with intentionality and purpose.

The Five Great Vows: Truthfulness, Non-Stealing, Celibacy, Non-Possession and Non-Attachment to Worldly Pleasures

The Five Great Vows are an important part of the teachings of many Eastern spiritual traditions, including Buddhism and Jainism. These vows, which are also known as the Pancha Mahavrata, emphasize a moral code for living a life of renunciation and detachment from worldly desires. The five vows are: Truthfulness (Satya), Non-Stealing (Asteya), Celibacy (Brahmacharya), Non-Possession (Aparigraha) and Non-Attachment to Worldly Pleasures (Abhaya).

Truthfulness is considered essential for maintaining one’s personal integrity and relationship with others. It involves being honest in all our dealings and refraining from lying or deceiving others.

Non-stealing is an important principle in these traditions that stresses the importance of respecting the property of others. It involves abstaining from taking what does not belong to us, as well as avoiding any kind of fraud or deception.

Celibacy is another vow that emphasizes restraint in one’s physical behavior. This involves abstaining from any sexual activity, either with oneself or with another person.

Non-possession is a vow that requires us to be content with what we have and to live without craving for more material possessions than we need. It encourages us to avoid attachment to things and cultivate an attitude of generosity towards those who have less than us.

Finally, non-attachment to worldly pleasures is a vow that encourages us to lead a life free from desires and attachments to worldly comforts. It involves cultivating an inner sense of contentment rather than seeking external sources of pleasure.

In summary, the Five Great Vows serve as a moral code for living a life of renunciation and detachment from worldly desires. They encourage us to cultivate truthfulness, non-stealing, celibacy, non-possession and non-attachment in order to lead a meaningful life rooted in spiritual principles.


In conclusion, the three main beliefs of Jainism are ahimsa (non-violence), anekantavada (the doctrine of multiple viewpoints) and aparigraha (non-possession). These beliefs are core to the teachings of Jainism and help to promote spiritual growth and peace within individuals. Through following these principles, one can lead a life that is both meaningful and spiritually fulfilling.

What are the 3 main beliefs of Jainism?

Samantha Greenfield

Samantha Greenfield was born and raised in a small town in the rural countryside of Washington state. From a young age, she was drawn to the natural world and spent much of her time exploring the forests and fields around her home. As she grew older, she became increasingly interested in the intersection of nature, spirituality, and personal growth, and began to study Buddhism and mindfulness in depth. After completing her undergraduate degree in Environmental Science, Samantha decided to pursue a career in nature conservation and spent several years working with various non-profit organizations and government agencies on conservation projects around the world. Along the way, she discovered a passion for writing and began to document her adventures and insights in a series of personal blogs and articles. In recent years, Samantha has turned her focus to sharing her knowledge and experiences with a wider audience and has become a popular speaker and workshop leader on topics related to Buddhism, mindfulness, and personal growth. She is currently working on a book about the intersection of nature, spirituality, and mindfulness, and continues to be an active advocate for environmental conservation and sustainability.

Recent Posts